NASA launches test mission of asteroid-deflecting spacecraft

Reuters |
Published: 11.24.21, 08:29
A spacecraft that must ultimately crash to succeed was launched late on Tuesday from California on a NASA mission to demonstrate the world's first planetary defense system, designed to deflect an asteroid from a potential doomsday collision with Earth.
The so-called DART spacecraft soared into the night sky at 10:21pm Pacific time on Tuesday (1:21am Eastern/0621 GMT Wednesday) from the Vandenberg U.S. Space Force Base, about 150 miles northwest of Los Angeles, carried aboard a SpaceX-owned Falcon 9 rocket.
The blast-off was shown live on NASA TV.