G-7 countries condemn Russia over Georgia

The world's leading industrial nations on Wednesday condemned Russia's actions in Georgia, underlining the country's growing estrangement from the West.


The United States, Britain, France, Canada, Germany, Japan and Italy - known as the Group of Seven - said in a joint statement that Russia's decision to recognize the Georgian rebel territories of South Ossetia and Abkhazia as independent countries violated the small pro-Western country's territorial integrity.  (AP)