Photo: AP
Holocaust Memorial in Berlin
Photo: AP

US, British architects win Israel's Wolf Prize

David Chipperfield recognized for overseeing reconstruction of Berlin's Neues Museum; Peter Eisenman receives prize for designing Holocaust Memorial in German capital. Winners to share $100,000 award

British and American architects were named winners of Israel's prestigious Wolf Prize.


The Wolf Foundation said Wednesday that British architect David Chipperfield is being recognized for overseeing the reconstruction of Berlin's Neues Museum in a building that had been abandoned since World War II.


His new building incorporated bricks, stairs and bullet holes from the original museum, which opened in 1855.


American architect Peter Eisenman designed the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin, inaugurated in 2005. The foundation says Eisenman's work "provides a new paradigm for memorialization."


The winners will share the $100,000 award.


Seven American and European scientists were named winners of the Wolf Prize on Monday.


The Wolf Foundation said its prize in medicine went to Axel Ullrich of Germany for groundbreaking cancer research that has led to development of new drugs.


Sir David Baulcombe of Cambridge University was awarded Wolf Prize for agriculture research in defending plants against viruses.


The physics prize was shared by US professor John F. Clauser, Alain Aspect of France and Anton Zeilinger of Austria for their work in quantum physics.


The mathematics prize was shared by two US-based professors: Shing-Tung Yau for geometric analysis, and Dennis Sullivan for contributions to algebraic topology and conformal dynamics.


The Wolf Foundation says 38 past winners have gone on to win Nobel prizes. The winners will receive the awards in a ceremony on May 13.


The Wolf Foundation was founded by the late German-born Dr. Ricardo Wolf, an inventor, philanthropist and former Cuban ambassador to Israel. The private nonprofit foundation's council is chaired by Israel's education minister.


פרסום ראשון: 02.04.10, 07:33
 new comment
This will delete your current comment