US Ambassador Dan Shapiro to deliver keynote address
Photo: AFP
Yedioth Ahronoth's Noah Klieger -lifetime achievement

B'nai B'rith announces 2011 Diaspora Reportage Award winners

Yedioth Ahronoth's Noah Klieger set to receive lifetime achievement award at global Jewish organization's awards recognizing excellence in Diaspora reportage. US Ambassador Dan Shapiro to deliver keynote address

The B’nai B’rith World Center has announced its 2011 Award for Journalism winners. This year, the Award for Journalism Recognizing Diaspora Reportage will be awarded to journalist Bambi Sheleg and film director Meni Elias who will receive the honor on October 31 in Jerusalem.


This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award in memory of Luis and Trudi Schydlowsky will be conferred upon veteran Yedioth Aharonoth journalist Noah Klieger. The event will be chaired by B’nai B’rith World Center Chairman Dr. Haim V. Katz.


Recently appointed US Ambassador to Israel, Dan Shapiro, will deliver the keynote address at the event entitled: “US-Israel Relations in Time of Middle East Upheavals and Peace Process Failures”.


The B’nai B’rith World Center Award for Journalism for 2011 in Memory of Wolf and Hilda Matsdorf for print media will be conferred at the event upon Bambi Sheleg, founder and editor-in-chief of the bi-monthly magazine Eretz Acheret (“A Different Israel”), for the November-December 2010 issue of the magazine dedicated to US Jewry.


The electronic media prize will be conferred upon director/photographer Meni Elias for his captivating documentary “Betzet Israel”, in which he follows three Israeli-Ethiopian through a roots journey to Ehiopia during which they relive the hardships they endured during their initial journey to Israel via Sudan.


Since its establishment in 1992, the B’nai B’rith World Center Award for Journalism has recognized excellence in reportage on contemporary Diaspora Jewish communities and on the state of Israel-Diaspora relations today in the Israeli print, electronic and on-line media.


The B'nai B'rith World Center Award is widely acknowledged by the media industry as the most prestigious prize in Israel recognizing excellence in Diaspora reportage.


Strengthening the bonds with Diaspora

Members of the award jury include: Dan Pattir, political analyst and media advisor to prime ministers Yitzhak Rabin and Menachem, Professor Yehudith Auerbach, Head of the Communication and Journalism Studies Division, Bar Ilan University and Sara Frenkel, Diaspora Reporter, Broadcast Authority and Lifetime Achievement Award winner for 2002.


Commenting on the 2011 award winners, Dr. Haim V. Katz B’nai B’rith World Center Chairman noted that “through their professional work the three winners made a significant contribution in exposing the varied image of the Jewish communities in the Diaspora.


"The Award is one of the B’nai B’rith World Center main goals in strengthening the bonds between the State of Israel and the Diaspora – bonds which we should nurture and strengthen with all the means”.


Last year's awards went to Anshel Pfeffer, Shaul Meislish, Ilan Goren, and Shlomi Goldberg. The Lifetime Achievement award was given to veteran journalist Avraham Tirosh.



פרסום ראשון: 10.24.11, 15:03
 new comment
This will delete your current comment