Rabbi Yosef and Aryeh Deri
Photo: Yaakov Cohen

Eli Yishai tops Shas Knesset list

Shas announces Knesset list ahead of January elections; list remains largely unchanged with exception of returning member Deri

Shas unveiled its Knesset list on Thursday ending days of speculation and internal battles. Minister Eli Yishai topped the list followed by returning leader Aryeh Deri and Minister Ariel Atias.


The list was announced by Rabbi Raphael Pinchasi, secretary of the Council of Torah Sages, at the home of the party's spiritual leader Rabbi Ovadia Yosef.


Related stories:


The list is almost identical to that of the previous elections with the addition of Deri and without Rabbi Haim Amsalem who left the party to create the Am Shalem movement, which is also running in the elections.


  • For full coverage of the elections click here


Speaking at the press conference, Deri tried to send a message of unity. "Titles aren't important, what's important is the goal and the path," he said. "Shas is not a 'me' party, it's a 'we' party."

הרב עובדיה עם מנהיגי המפלגה וחכמי התורה (צילום: יעקב כהן)

Rabbi Yosef with Shas leaders (Photo: Yaakov Cohen)


The Shas line-up for 19th Knesset elections is as follows:


1. Eli Yishai

2. Aryeh Deri

3. Ariel Atias

4. Yitzhak Cohen

5. Meshulam Nahari

6. Amnon Cohen

7. Yaakov Margi

8. David Azoulay

9. Yitzhak Vaknin

10. Nissim Zeev

11. Avraham Michaeli

12. Yoav Ben-Zur

13. Lior Edri

14. Ami Iluz

15. Eli Dadon

16. Gershon Levy

17. Ami Biton

18. Binyamin Elharar

19. Oren Malka

20. Nati Nahum


Akiva Novick is a Ynet and Yedioth Ahronoth correspondent




פרסום ראשון: 12.06.12, 17:14
 new comment
This will delete your current comment