President Shimon Peres at inauguration ceremony
Photo: Ohad Zwigenberg

12 new judges sworn in

Ceremony introduces 12 judges, one registrar to Israeli judicial system, commended by Peres as bearers of peace, truth, helping society to 'maintain moral standards'

Twelve judges and one judicial registrar were sworn in by President Shimon Peres on Monday.


During the ceremony, held in the presence of Justice Minister Yaakov Neeman and Supreme Court President Asher Grunis, President Peres commended the judges and stressed that "It is the responsibility of the judicial system to work within complexities that demand judgment and agility… The pursuit of peace and truth were meant to go hand in hand, to overcome crime so that a dangerous minority does not terrorize an entire society that strives to maintain moral standards.


Related stories:


"Democracy is not dependent only on the leadership; leaders today – more than ever – are dependent on public opinion, which of course poses great responsibility for the individual; every citizen must feel that the fate of the State is in his or her hands. It's not hard to distinguish between light and darkness."

נאמן, פרס וגרוניס, היום בירושלים (צילום: אוהד צויגנברג)

Grunis (L), Peres, Neeman (Photo: Ohad Zwigenberg) 


The new judges, all chosen to serve in magistrates courts across the country, are: Lior Beringer, Rakefet Segal-Mohar, Tal Paperni, Shmuel Melamed, Orit Clara Lipschitz, Noa Tavor, Shmuel Herbst, Muhammad Ali, Abigail Zechariah, Mordechai Burstein, Ohad Gordon, Roee Perry. Ephraim Tchizik was named senior registrar.


Earlier this year, Minister Neeman criticized the Israeli judicial system and expressed his hope that with the appointment of 164 new judges out of 228 nominations, an "essential change" brought to Israeli courts will sustain.



  • Receive Ynetnews updates directly to your desktop



פרסום ראשון: 01.14.13, 13:58
 new comment
This will delete your current comment