Benjamin Netanyahu
Photo: Gil Yohanan
Yair Lapid
Photo: Reuters
Naftali Bennett
Photo: Shaul Golan, Yedioth Ahronoth
Silvan Shalom
Photo: Ilan Assayag
Photo: Gil Yohanan
Yuval Steinitz
Photo: Gil Yohanan

Israel's 33rd government line-up finalized

Silvan Shalom, Yuval Steinitz assigned cabinet roles after lengthy discussions; government to include 22 ministers

The line-up of Israel's 33rd government has been finalized hours before the cabinet will be sworn on Monday afternoon.


Yuval Steinitz and Silvan Shalom were assigned roles after lengthy discussions that went well into the night. Steinitz will serve as minister for international, intelligence and strategic affairs.


Related stories:


He will be charged with handling the strategic dialogue with the United States, including the nuclear issue, and will be a member of the peace negotiations team. The former finance minister will also be appointed chairman of the Atomic Energy Committee.


Shalom will retain the Regional Development portfolio and will also take on the energy and water portfolio. He will be a member of the kitchen cabinet as well as of the peace negotiations team.


The government will have the highest number of women ministers ever recorded in Israel.


The line-up is as follows:


  • Benjamin Netanyahu (Likud) – Prime Minister
  • Moshe Ya'alon (Likud) – Defense Minister
  • Yair Lapid (Yesh Atid) – Finance Minister
  • Gideon Sa'ar (Likud) – Interior Minister
  • Shay Piron (Yesh Atid) – Education Minister
  • Naftali Bennett (Habayit Hayehudi) – Economy and Trade Minister
  • Tzipi Livni (Hatnua) – Justice Minister
  • Yael German (Yesh Atid) – Health Minister
  • Yisrael Katz (Yisrael Beiteinu) – Transportation Minister
  • Gilad Erdan (Likud) – Communications and Home Front Defense Minister
  • Silvan Shalom (Likud) – Regional Development, Water and Energy Resources Minister
  • Uri Ariel (Habayit Hayehudi) – Housing Minister
  • Yuval Steinitz (Likud) – Minister for International, Intelligence and Strategic Affairs
  • Uri Orbach (Habayit Hayehudi) – Minister for Pensioners Affairs
  • Meir Cohen (Yesh Atid) - Welfare Minister
  • Yaakov Peri (Yesh Atid) – Science Minister
  • Amir Peretz (Hatnua) – Environmental Protection Minister
  • Sofa Landver (Yisrael Beiteinu) – Immigrant Absorption Minister
  • Uzi Landau (Yisrael Beiteinu) – Tourism Minister
  • Yair Shamir (Yisrael Beiteinu) – Agriculture Minister
  • Yitzhak Aharonovitch (Yisrael Beiteinu) – Internal Security Minister
  • Limor Livnat (Likud) – Culture and Sports Minister
  • Eli Ben-Dahan (Habayit Hayehudi) – Deputy Minister for Religious Affairs 
  • Mickey Levy (Yesh Atid) – Deputy Welfare Minister
  • Danny Danon (Likud) – Deputy Defense Minister
  • Zeev Elkin (Likud) – Deputy Foreign Minister
  • Avigdor Lieberman (Yisrael Beiteinu) – Foreign Minister-designate


Yaron Druckman contributed to this report


פרסום ראשון: 03.18.13, 08:34
 new comment
This will delete your current comment