A DNA lab
Photo: Index Open

Israeli scientists, researchers awarded prizes

The Landau Prize from Mifal HaPayis will also be handed out to artists, including Ido Tadmor

The seven Israeli academics to be awarded Mifal HaPayis' Landau Prize for Science and Research for 2011 have been named.


The winner for research in liberal arts and classics is Dr. Aharon Shabtai of Tel Aviv University.


The prize for research in religious studies has been awarded to Prof. Steven Kaplan of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, while Prof. Amatzia Genin of the Hebrew University has won the prize for research in the field of ecology.


The prize for research in the field of biology and evolution has been conferred on Prof. Eviatar Nevo from the University of Haifa, and the Technion's Prof. David Hasson has won the life sciences-desalination prize.


Prof. Gil Navon of Tel Aviv University is the winner of the prize for research in life sciences-magnetic imaging, and Prof. Chaim Gans of Tel Aviv University and the Shalom Hartman Institute has been awarded the prize for political science and international relations.


The Landau Prizes are scheduled to be conferred at a ceremony in May, and each of the winners will receive NIS 50,000.


Mifal HaPayis will also be handing out prizes for the arts to the following artists: Amir Benayun (Israeli music); Ronit Elkabetz (film acting); David Gurfinkel (cinematography); Doron Salomon (singing); Eli Degibri (jazz); Shosh Reisman (composing for theater.)


Dudi Goldman contributed to this report.


Follow Ynetnews on Facebook and Twitter




פרסום ראשון: 04.26.12, 12:10
 new comment
This will delete your current comment