LONDON - Animal products will not be used in Mars Bars, the British confectionary manufacturer MasterFoods stated on Sunday.
Recent announcement by manufacturer that popular chocolate bars, including Mars Bar, Snickers and Twix, will start containing animal products, may cause rabbis to deem them non-kosher
The company surprised consumers three weeks ago when it announced that its previously vegetarian chocolate bars would include animal rennet starting May. The products’ new ingredient outraged vegetarians and Jewish consumers worldwide.
Forty parliament members joined the international protest against MasterFoods’ decision, and vegetarian organizations bombarded the company’s management with 6,000 angry emails last week.
Due to the extreme dissatisfaction expressed by these consumers, the company reversed its decision to include animal rennet in the popular chocolate bars.
“The consumer is our boss,” explained Fiona Dawson, managing director of Masterfoods, “After it became clear that the consumers were not happy with the new taste, we quickly realized we had made a mistake, and for that, we are sorry.”